You should spend about 40 minutes on this question. Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

athletics continues to be a controversial topic in the academy curriculum, just as athletics itself has Become a controversial industry in some respects. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I Will consider now. On the one hand, some people feel that athletics uses up time, which could be better spent on Academic subjects such as exam preparation. In addition, it might be said that it is unwise to force Children to do activities which they have no interest in. After all, some youngsters are just not sporty, And should be allowed to study instead. Finally, there are question marks over the wholesomeness of athletics itself, with drugging and corruption scandals increasingly common, as we see in cycling at Present. Some people believe that this lack of morals sets a poor example to young people. On the other hand, though, one major benefit of athletics is that it helps children’s physical Development at an important stage. If all their time was spent studying, they would become unfit and Their minds would eventually suffer. Furthermore, supporters of academy athletics emphasize the Importance of team building in sports such as football or hockey, which is often felt to be an excellent Preparing for adulthood. Finally, many people feel that a competitive spirit, so important today, is Fostered by sports at an early age. It is notable, for example, that many successful business people Excelled in athletics at institute. Overall, I feel that athletics should be compulsory for institute children, because the positive effect On their mental and physical development outweighs the negatives. This is as long as children are Given a wide range to choose from, to ensure their interest is high, and that the sports industry itself Maintains the highest standards of conduct.