Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Many people argue that spending of public money on the arts by the government is a wastage and it can be utilized elsewhere and I agree with them. In this essay, I am going to support my opinion with examples. Firstly, this money can be spent on health care to provide free health benefits for the poor and needy. A lot of poor in the country cannot afford the treatments for several contagious and serious diseases and choose to ignore them. This is an issue because it can result in a widespread of the illness which can be hard to contain if it infects a large amount of population. For example, In the recent COVID-19 outbreak, many people choose not to get themselves tested because the diagnosis costed more than what they can afford and resulted in a large number of people infected across the country. If the authorities are able to provide free health care, then the number of people who neglect the symptoms could drastically decrease and this can result in curbing the further spread of the diseases. Secondly, the money can also be used to support the education of the talented by providing them with scholarships. Many talented students and the poor are forced to study in substandard institutions because they cannot afford the fee of reputed colleges. For instance, a friend of mine who had the talent to get into one of the top colleges in the country could not because the fee was beyond what he could manage, so he had to join a below average local college. If the government could provide funding to these talented individuals, then it could lead to the overall development of the nation in the long run as this scheme can produce more scholars. To conclude, instead of spending money on the arts, governments can consider investing in health care and education which in my view, are the better alternatives because of the advantages of improved health and development of the nation.