Sport is becoming a business. More and more companies are getting involved in sporting events. Do you think that it is a positive or negative development ?

It is true that corporations have the tendency to play a role in different aspects of competitive sports nowadays. While I understand that this bilateral relation may cause some negative impacts, I would argue that it is a step long sought by sports advocates to help sporting events take off. The unfavourable side of this movement can be attributed to two main factors, match-fixing and the use of illegal substance. Many companies which are funding sporting events, are simultaneously sponsoring one or multiple teams of their own. Hence, many people are apprehensive about the idea that the result of a tournament could be predetermined by how much money big companies are pouring in to buy their teams’ victories. Furthermore, substantial monetary benefits may entice athletes into using performance-enhancing drugs in sports tournaments. This can have detrimental effects on sporting events, as it jeopardizes the health of its users, while ruining sportsmanship and the outputs of all the matches that it is involved in. On the flip side, funding from corporate can facilitate sports development in many ways. Firstly, it helps sporting organizations have the money needed to organize holistically better events. This money can be used for many activities, namely the production and marketing of the campaign, to serve the purpose of meeting the public’s expectations by bringing out a fully operational and aesthetically pleasing tournament. Secondly, sportsmen, at least those who play popular ones, are able to secure themselves a stable or even lucrative income. As a result, devoted athletes can rid themselves of financial worries and be extra focused on their games to give more eye-pleasing performances for the followers of the sport. In conclusion, while the connection between sporting events and commercial companies can have several bad effects, I am convinced that the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks.