The mass media, including television, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The mass media, including the radio, TV, newspaper and the internet have a huge impact on people’s lifestyles, ways of thinking and habits; the effect of media is very apparent in our daily lives and surroundings since that tool being invented. Some people stick to the point that these mass media have a profound effect on shaping people’s ideas. However, some people believe that media cannot fully effect on people. Additionally, I personally think both views may be true. Firstly, that is clear media such as TV and radio have some effects on people, the prime reason why the media have an impact on people, lies in a fact that people in their life are watching television, reading the newspaper every hour and surf the net every day, so information and ideas that media publish among people have a direct effect on people’s behaviour, thought, attitude and lifestyle as an example the enormous number of violent films on TV desensitized to violence. For example, regular viewers end up thinking reality should be like what they see on TV, which affects their behaviour and values. From other viewpoints, the media cannot influence people’s culture and lifestyle fully, in more detail culture is not monolithic and society is fragmented. For instance, in our country TV shows just aim to preserve conventionality and available status in our society, so media often cannot change the prevailing attitude and way of people thinking in their lives. Consequently, the media could not possibly influence all their constituents. In conclusion, we cannot deny the influence of media on people’s attitude and their life. However, in some part media cannot have a deep impact on people because some ideas and beliefs and attitudes have roots in our culture and are not changeable.