Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the use of online reading materials has increased its prevalence among the children due to the technology advancement. However, some people concern that only printed material should be used. Personally, I suggest that online reading withholds more advantages than disadvantages and hence it can be utilised. It is undeniable that the conventional printed materials contain several irreplaceable benefits. Firstly, it allows youngsters to concentrate on reading since internet often contains numerous applications such as games and videos. Teenagers are often lack of self-control and they may tend to divert themselves to other social media. In addition, some online videos contain some violence, pornography elements which are easy to lead the children astray. What’s more, the screen contains the radiation which is harmful to youngsters’ eyes. There is an evidence that the percentage of eyes illness teenagers are escalating at an alarming rate. Therefore, the printed materials can further protect their eyes. On the flipped side, we should recognise the benefits generated from reading online. Since the computer has much larger capacity to store hundred and thousands of materials, children can access various books simultaneously, whereas in conventional, children need to carry a trunk of books around. What’s more, this digital invention is the saviour to the modern society, especially in an era where the global resources are depriving at a speedy rate. It assists to save lots of resources from printed out of the papers. The downsides of online reading can be alleviated under the guidance of adults. As such the government should strictly introduce the age rating system online to prevent children accessing too much bad material and the adults should restrict children’s time length in accessing it to protect their eyes. In conclusion, digital reading materials bring more blessings than curses towards the society. It is a necessary invention of the 21st century to develop a more swift, efficient and sustainable society. Therefore, the online reading materials can be adopted gradually with the well-rounded precautions from government and families.