The Growth of online Shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

The suffusion of technology in everyday life is transforming human preferences; the most visible change is the shifting shopping patterns of individuals from conventional brick and mortar stores to online mediums. There is no doubt that the new trend is gaining popularity among the masses; especially in young generation. Several people deem that in the near future online shopping will supplant all other modes of shopping, resulting, in a worldwide closure of malls and shopping centres. As per my standpoint, the volume of the online trade will definitely increase many folds due to its convenience, but the notion of its complete capturing of the market transactions is preposterous. The primary reason that e-commerce cannot replace the local stores is the fact that these websites cannot provide physical verification of products before purchase. Evidently, a myriad of people still feels hesitant to buy goods, in particular expensive items, from online platforms. For instance, in many cases it has been observed that people do not get the same product as promised by the website, therefore, dwindle its credibility among customers. Furthermore, payment against online purchases are mostly made through debit, credit cards or other electronic methods, which are prone to cyber attacks from hackers. The danger of losing private information and financial loss is the prominent risk associated with the online purchases. In addition, criminals use different tactics to obtain personal information about customers such as creating fake websites on which huge discounts are offered to bait customers. For this reason, a plethora of people still prefers cash transactions and avoid online shopping as much as possible. Taking everything into account, there is no doubt that the scale of online shopping will increase over the course of time and it will open new vistas for business to promote their products. However, factors attached to online shopping such as unable to verify the products physically, counterfeit products are sold as original and potential risk of cybercrime impedes its complete dominance, henceforth, still make shopping centres, malls and stores an important place of attraction for customers.