Violence in the media promotes violence in society. To what extent do you agree?

In the complexity of the world nowadays, people can easily access information through media from many channels such as television, newspaper, and website. Moreover, the media, which influence people in every age, from the juvenile and the elderly, could contain violent contents and it might support the society to create violence or commit a crime. In this essay, I agree with the statement and provide reasons and examples in the following paragraphs. First of all, due to the increasing number of people accessing to the media. In fact, various media influences on individuals’ daily life. Moreover, violent contents commonly exist in the media such as in video games, movies, and news. Since the behaviour of most people that easily trust the media, it made them incorrectly consume the media. Therefore, violent contents in the media could support the people to imitate and follow. For example, there was a case in Thailand, a student that brought the pistol to school to show his friends, after learning the usage from the internet. Accidentally, he shot his friend to death. As a result, the increasing audience accessing to violent contents can lead them to commit a crime in the future. Second of all, most people get used to the violent contents in the media. Indeed, most of the media bring up the violence as their main themes such as thriller films, shooting games, and the news report of a crime. Thereby, individuals assumed that brutality is an ordinary thing and acceptable. Besides, it changed individuals’ behaviour to be more aggressive, nervous, and choleric. Moreover, this behaviour could lead the people to solve the problem using violence and think negatively. For instance, there was a case of a mass shooting in the United States with 17 people killed, a criminal mentioned a first -person shooting video games, and he thought that video games taught people to kill. Consequently, if the media promotes more about violence to the individuals, it might trigger the people’s negative thoughts and support them to the rampage. To sum up, the media tend to be an important part of our life, it means that the violent contents, which existed in the media can also affect the individuals’ thought, people must consume media consciously and determine what is right or wrong. So that they could not be controlled by the violence