In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development.

There are a variety of different opinions on whether or not immigrants should change their behavior to fit in with their new country. Although some people would no doubt disagree, I personally believe that newcomers should indeed try to adapt. In my view, this means following both the written laws and social customs of their adopted country. There are two primary reasons for this. Firstly, it is obvious that society would not function properly if newcomers did not obey the law. One particularly good example of this is road rules – image what would happen if people refused to drive on the same side of the road. Thus, it is necessary for immigrants to make sure that they obey the law in their new country even if laws in their home country are different. Two other examples of things which are allowed in some countries but illegal in others are owning a gun and gambling. Secondly, it is important to remember that societies are built on shared values. The social rules of a country are the glues that keep it together, so immigrants must respect them. Certainly, having many different cultures makes a country more interesting; however, I would argue that too much difference weakens a society by making people feel that they do not belong there. I believe that similarities between people bring them together, while their differences pull them apart. A healthy society is a society with strong sense of unity. In conclusion, I once again restate my belief that new immigrants to a country must try to adjust to local rules of behavior. As the old saying goes: “When in Rome, do as the Romans do"