Some people believe that children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others feel it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In today‘s globalized economy, the ability to speak a second language is more useful than ever before. While some believe that children should only start to learn a foreign language at secondary school, TS | side with those who feel the learning process should begin the moment children enter the education system. BP1 On the one hand, it could be argued that the study of foreign languages should wait. Those in favour of postponement argue that young school children already have a hectic timetable that is fit to burst and learning Mathematics and Science should take precedence over second language studies. In short, they feel that the native language should come first. What is more, they also argue that only a small minority of children will ever actually need to use a second language, so it is a waste of time learning a skill that for many will be redundant later in life. BP2 However, I side with those who believe that second language learning should begin at primary school. It is a fact that the earlier a child learns a language, the more proficiently they will eventually be able to speak it. Research has shown that before puberty, children have a unique ability to acquire languages by simply being exposed to them, which is a skill that ends in adolescence. Moreover, in my opinion, children who learn at an early age often lack the fear associated with speaking in a foreign tongue. For example, they don’t feel self—conscious when trying to pronounce foreign language words. However, perhaps my strongest argument for starting early is that learning a foreign language provides children with a range of other cognitive skills. For that matter, Multilingual or even Bilingual children are known to perform better in problem solving tasks and have more creativity than their monolingual counterparts, which are desirable skills for children of any age. In conclusion, although young children already have full timetables, learning a foreign language has many positive cognitive side effects for a child’s overall education. Therefore, on balance, I strongly believe that children should start learning a second language at primary school rather than secondary school.