The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease the violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree

With the rapid development of science and technology, the television has become the indispensable part of our daily life, no matter adults or children, who prefer to watch TV programs as recreation and a best way to alleviate stress. However, recently, an increasing number of people commit crimes due to watching too much violent plot on the TV programs. Therefore, whether the government should restrict the contents about violence and pornography on the television is a matter of some dispute. From my point of view, these contents should be immediately forbidden. As we all know, youngsters are the principal group affected by these violent plots. Children’s psychologies are still immature and unformed, they are unable to distinguish between right and wrong, eventually, excessive violence in the media does have a simple, direct stimulus-response effect on the young people. As a result, youngsters will imitate the scenes and actions of violence and crimes in TV programs, thus becoming criminals. Similarly, such kinds of programs have a negative influence on adults as well. Although adults possess higher ability to judge right from wrong and have stronger self-control, once they are exposed to such violent plots too much, they will just become numb and take it for granted. Indeed, many cases of adult crimes were the result of films or television. Apart from the detrimental effect on people, there is a noticeable negative influence on society. Harmonious society as a whole needs all the people’s efforts. In fact, many real-life cases of crimes remind us that only by hiring more policemen to maintain order would not have the desired results and even aggravate the financial burden on the country. Therefore, governments should take action to control these violent contents of the media. To draw a conclusion, scenes of violence in TV programs are indeed harmful to both individuals and societies that government should strictly control the quality of programs.