Some people think parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Man is a social being and has to be in constant contact with others in the society. There are some values and characteristics that a person has to learn in order to blend well with the society. On one hand, there are people who believe that it is parents who should teach their children these values to be a good member of the society. On the other hand, there are others who believe that the school is the place to learn these values. This essay will discuss both these views in detail. Starting from the birth up to the start of preschool, parents are the only ones in constant contact with the baby. The initial few years of the child’s development are very crucial, as this is the phase where the child’s nature and personality is sculpted. So, the parents can mould their nature and character to be a better person in adulthood. As they grow older, the children mimic and adapt their parent’s behaviour and nature. For instance, children imitate a gesture as simple as saying ‘thank you’ or ‘please’. All these minute gestures are noted and engraved in the child’s personality for life. This ultimately causes them to live happily and peacefully in the community. The other train of thought is the belief of the school being the learning ground for children to be a better member of society. Once the child begins going to school, he has to socialize and interact with teachers and peers. This teaches him how to behave and adapt to the other people’s nature in the community. In case the child faces an issue or problem in getting along with the other children, there are teachers who can intervene and guide him. In conclusion, I believe that though, the school provides a vast experience to the child about the life in society, it is the parents who create and sculpt the base of child’s character and personality. This further leads to them being a a good member of the society.