In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s society, we are able to shop, work, and keep in contact with people through the Internet and live without any direct connection with others. From my perspective of view, these changes are negative development to all humankind. On one hand, the Internet does help people communicate better. Exchanging information has never been easier as a result of rapid changes in the Internet. With the devices that have Internet access, despite our time and location, we are all connected. Just with a touch on the screen, and people’s demand for communication is met. Besides, online communication is not time-consuming, which is becoming an important aspect of people’s hectic pace of life. Conversation via the Internet only takes us milliseconds connect whereas traditional forms of communication took us many days and weeks. Moreover, we are also being able to go shopping online while working or staying at home. On the other hand, we are on the brink of being socially isolated because of our overuse of the Internet. As it is possible and effortless for us to meet online without having to talk face-to-face, the need for direct communication between people dramatically decreased. In the past, when we wanted to buy something, we went to the nearby shops and asked the shop assistants for some advice on the product, which unintentionally gave people a chance to talk. Nowadays, goods are all bought online and done through electronic transactions, which means communication without words. In the long run, this may lead to a growing number of youngsters spending their lonely lives in a room instead of going outside and making contacts. In conclusion, in spite of all the benefits that the Internet brings about, it is definitely becoming a negative development for us humans.