Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Online education has become a common feature over the past few years. While there are some drawbacks of internet-based learning, I support the view that the benefits outweigh than the drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, there are some reasons why people do not want to take the online courses. Firstly, the main reason is that students get less direct interaction during their class. It means that by studying via internet, face to face communication or discussions with their peers or their professionals are impossible. Instead of having to face interaction, the students must communicate by written form which might bring less motivation for them. Secondly, while the traditional classes can support their students to attend seminars, the students of online classes only can join the discussion via website forum areas. On the other hand, I support the view that there are various advantages of online education can bring to our society. First of all, learners can study in a flexible way, which means they can join the class whenever or whatever they can cover their material in their own pace. Furthermore, the cost of online study will be reduced by the increasing of number students. This leads to the increase of revenue institutions. Finally, online learning can open for everyone, regardless of age, distance or background which contributes to the enrich knowledge of communities. For example, people from Asian countries can apply for online course of the American Universities while they still can stay in Asia. In conclusion, while there still have some negative developments of studying online, the positive side bring more benefits for our society.