earlier people wore clothes which were related to their culture but now people wear the same type of clothes.is this positive or negative trend?

As the effects of modernization grow, people are opting for similar attires globally and while this trend might have some negligible benefits, in my opinion it is a detrimental trend. To begin with, one’s culture is expressed through his clothing as it reflects upon a nation’s ancient history / traditions, whereas if everyone dressed the same, our origins would be soon long forgotten. For instance, in India, where Sarees were the dominant garments during festivities, are now being replaced by more casual dressings and thus the traditions are becoming slowly extinct. In other words, if we don’t promote our customs, who else will? Additionally, another point to consider is that through ethnic clothing, the spirit of unity is shared amongst the individuals within a community, which avoids behavioural and emotional problems, particularly in youngsters. To further illustrate, teenagers would neither be a victim of peer pressure nor feel detached and confused of their nativity as the whole community would be bound together as one. However, lack of this belongings can certainly disintegrate a tribe and hence the importance of ethnic attire. Finally, it is solely up to us to preserve our ancestral roots, keeping them alive, so that they will be passed on to other generations. Furthermore, this trend will not only allow people to acknowledge the history of different societies, but it will also result in economic growth of that particular nation by the influx of visitors. To exemplify, increasing number of tourists are inclined to visit rural areas of countries to get a glimpse of the true traditions of the region, that’s kept intact. In conclusion, I believe, although although people are free to make their own choices, they should not shy away from ethnic attires as at the end of the day our clothing represents our identity.