In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that there is a significant increase in health problems since people consume a large quantity of convenience food. There are some people who think that governments should vigorously enforce a higher tax against the company of fast food, while others state that this is not the case. In this essay, I will completely agree with the latter view. The first point to make is that, in general, a heightened tax on fast food alone may only place an onerous financial burden on the residents. To explain, compared to natural food, the average price of junk foods may still cheaper than natural food despite the fact that the price of fast food would grow significantly by a new tax. For example, consumers will change expenditure when these changes are inexpensive. As a result, if a new levy policy was applied to ready-to-eat foods, it would force the average-income working people pay more for their daily meals. Another compelling point is that consumers may still favour fast food for the ease of life it brings. To be more specific, as opposed to food at home, which is good for health, they choose fast food for the convenience because they have less time to cook in their daily meals. To illustrate, the middle and lower class people sacrificed for the sake of time-saving; Thus, convenience is perhaps the most significant a decisive factor when the majority of the prevalence opts for what to eat on a regular basis. Consequently, if the taxation schemes imposed, convenient foods would be gone the intrinsic value of being ‘fast’. In conclusion, this essay supports the idea that an intensified tax on deleterious precooked food is a realistic preventive measure it may only lead to heavier routine expenditure of the payers. Therefore, other nutritious diets should be made cheaper and more convenient.