With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today's generation has been under immense coercion due to the advancement in the academic aspect. As a result, the non-academic programs such as physical education, arts and cookery are under great oppression. In my opinion, I strongly believe that subjects outside syllabus are significantly interrelated and have to be taught hand in hand. Firstly, non-academic subjects build confidence and strength in introvert students. This will definitely promote creativity and imagination in skilled pupils. Without this, children will struggle to grow into dynamic, individual thinkers on reaching adulthood. Certain students are gifted with special abilities, but often they are not recognized. Additionally, this would pave the way for an insight on different individuals. For instance, students studying arts and other creative artefacts will develop linguistic capabilities to express their inner emotions. Finally, some protest, the less focus on academic subjects due to the practicality of acquiring these talents. Due to this, a majority denies the time for these academic topics. Parents are often worried about these unpleasant behaviour of their children, as for a better living they should grasp knowledge that they are taught in school. For example, a survey conducted by IES in Italy reports that, most of the students spend a bulk amount of hours in cookery and sports rather than academic tools. I suppose that, they should be on the same importance no matter what. This would help them succeed in life without any grief. Hence, there should be a balance to facilitate a healthy development both physically and mentally. Equal time management on both sides would not create this imbalance in academic trail. In conclusion, it is necessary to teach academic and non-academic subjects alongside all other subjects. A school curriculum should offer a balance of subjects.