TOPIC: A love for tradition has never weakened a country, but it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril. Discuss the statement and give your own opinion.

Historically, traditions have featured prominently in the existence and prosperity of a nation. Regarding their importance in maintaining the national status, there goes a saying that " A love for tradition has never weakened a country, but it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril.". From my personal perspective, although traditions empower a country and its people to overcome a multitude of adversities, the statement is nothing but an over-generalization. In the first place, with nationalism in spirit, a nation can stand tall against external threats. Indeed, when all people foster their appreciation for an age-old custom, it will serve as a bond that connects different nationalities across the homey. Subsequently, this is going to form a colossal power that counteracts assimilation from superior forces. For instance, since time immemorial, the Dong Son culture had been preserved by a host of generations. Despite China's attempts at cultural dilution during their 1000-year colonization, it still thrived prosperously, which is evidenced by various artefacts such as pots and bronze-made drums that are maintained in national museums. More closely speaking, it is traditional beliefs and cultures that are a bulwark against the backdrop of foreign invasions. On the other hand, antiquated practices can wreak substantial havoc on the development of a bucolic. In fact, some practices may become unacceptable or detrimental given their possible repercussions on the environment or a moral observing, thus, should be either eradicated or modified. For example, among ethnic minorities and nomadic tribes, slash-and-burn agriculture is still widely practiced, causing severe deforestation and soil erosion. But for timely interventions have been implemented by the authorities, these lifestyles would considerably hinder the agricultural sector due to the shrinkage of arable land. In conclusion, though there is a correlation between a rustic's might and its richness in traditions, there is every possibility that it will be weakened should they cannot alter their outdated and insensible practices. It is imperative that traditions should be judged hand in hand with their upsides and downsides in order to optimize their sinews.