Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Thanks to globalisation, multinational conglomerates have entered the local markets. They have huge marketing budgets to promote their products and attract buyers. Global business giants now have their outlets even in small villages. Since they offer huge discounts on most products, they can easily attract buyers. At first glance, this may seem beneficial for the customers, but it really is not. The presence of international retailers in the local market hurts local businesses and thus the local economy. For example, many local artisans have lost their livelihood because their products have no buyers. The power of advertising repeated whether on television, radio, newspapers, banners, causes people to become psychologically accustomed to this product. The only way for local businesses to compete with international giants is to offer personalised services. While it is true that local traders cannot offer the kind of discounts or offers that multinational giants offer, they know their customers better. It is also possible for them to understand the exact needs of their target group. This knowledge actually puts them in a better position to cater to the specific needs of their buyers. In order to compete with large trading giants, small trading owners need to give a new type of trade, such as national goods and items, and maintain the quality of services at a very high level. To conclude, the aggressive marketing strategies employed by the big conglomerates lead to the demise of local shops. However, local store owners can counter this attack by improving the quality of their products and offering personalised services.