Topic. Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a group while others believe that it is better for them to study alone. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

To achieve academic success is becoming challenging as the day goes by, and so, scholars put in enormous effort in a bid to succeed, as such, individuals come up with varying opinions. Some think that better results are achieved through group studying, however, others still believe that solitary learning is more effective, I will try to dissect these diverging views in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the importance of learning in groups cannot be over emphasized, it offers the individuals involved the opportunity to explore each other's knowledge and grasp one or two things from another person's perspective. Furthermore, it reduces errors, because, by the involvement of more than one person, most mistakes could be spotted and corrected. For example, during my undergraduate thesis, there were calculations I got wrong during independent study, but when I involved a friend of mine, the error was discovered and subsequently rectified. Nonetheless, to learn with others also has its demerits, it can bring about distraction, lack of concentration and could even lead to defaulting in learning. One or two of the members could even decide to seek for fun rather than the task at hand, which may in turn discourage others. For instance, there was a time during my college days when a group of my friends an I planned to go to an evening class to read, it happened that a few didn't show up, but rather decided to go partying, the rest of us were demoralized and the class didn't hold. In conclusion, to study with others could be very beneficial, although one need to be careful to go with like minds to avoid being dispirited.