Car ownership has increased so rapidly ove the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam". How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is widely argued that people who own cars have highly increased over the last thirty years with negative consequences such as big traffic jams in many cities around the world. I strongly believe that this claim is valid and can be proved on a daily basis through economic researches, by measuring the stress of drivers stuck in traffic and also by measuring the air quality. The number of cars has increased, especially in those cities where public transportation had not been adequately implemented. Despite being the scarcity and the inefficiency of public transport the main reason why people use cars, is not the only one. There is also another factor that influence people to own cars and is the cultural background. In Italy, forfor example, using private transports is a trend. The first thing you want as a teenager is the driver license. Driving cars become quickly a proper habit and people use it also for short tracts. I noticed a similar attitude in development countries. There owning cars is a status symbol of power, wealth and independence. Nevertheless, other European cities see the trend in a different way and governments have put more effort to reduce the usage of cars. For example, in Germany, the efficiency of public means of transport has convinced people to use them. I think that the government has a central role in discouraging people from using their cars. To do so, the government has to implement a strong transport infrastructure that is easier and cheaper than using cars. For example, by creating a strong connection within areas in a city, transports can reach easily many places that are further away. In addition to this, bus, trains and undergrounds, should work until late and be frequent. They should not only be technically efficient, but they should also be affordable and varying in the cost depending on the consumer’s wage or status. By applying these measures, it may be possible to convince more people to change their habits. Whereas, in a place where the car culture is stronger, in addition to what's already mentioned, it should be taught about the negative impacts of driving cars on the environment and on the level of stress. In conclusion, governments and people can do a lot to reduce the usage of cars and the measurements should include improving the efficiency of alternative means of transportation, reduce the cost of public transports and also change in the cultural behaviour.