In some parts of the world is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? is it positive or negative development?

More and more people are becoming interested in knowing their origins and the story of their families. Most probably those people want to know about their origins out of simple curiosity, but others might hope to find answers to relive from the confusion that this last century causes. In other words, I believe that this practice has lately increased because many people confused and lost. Getting to know one’s origin could help them to understand better themselves and to find relatives they did not know about it. In the past, families were more united but nowadays people are moving really fast and easily from a place to another. This causes family gets separated and to create new families elsewhere. While the world is more globally interconnected, small groups such as families tend to be further away each other. This situation of detachment leads people to feel lost and lonely. Finding about one’s own history can make them feel part something that sadly got lost. In my opinion, this is a positive development, but it could also have some negative drawbacks. It is positive because this phenomenon shows that people care about their history and they are brave enough to look back, finding out who they are and where they belong to. Sometimes It is just easier to create a new family and move forward with our life. As I mentioned before, people might just be curious about their ancestors and I think curiosity is what make us human therefore I think it is really positive. Despite being an interesting practice, I see some minor drawbacks in looking up to the past. For example, by doing a heritage DNA check we give out our information that then are being shown to everybody and I find this not so safe. We could also get to know things that change the relation we have to our present life and could influence our future. Last but not least, knowing someone that claims to be a relative could also not be as pleasant as it sounds like and it could remind us to the reasons why we got far away to create a new family in the first place. To conclude, despite possible unexpected negative consequences, I think that is really important and is a good practice to look up at the history of one’s own family to feel part of something and to better understand one’s present life.