As well as making money, businesses have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Profitability has been long considered as a crucial factor that channelize business success. However, the increasing awareness and rapidly changing markets have made the companies realize that besides earning money they have to undertake an active and constructive responsibility towards the sustainable development of society. I vehemently espouse that in addition to profits, corporations should expend considerable efforts for the betterment of society at large. To begin with, it is a commonly accepted notion that moneymaking approaches are essential for ensuring financial viability and success. Without the provision of adequate financial resources, the corporation will not be in a position to meet their day-to-day expenses, such as payment of wages, rents etc. This in turn will create a negative resource loss spiral by hampering their prospects to undertake substantial strategic activities, such as investment of funds for the expansion and growth. For instance: In 2012, Kingfisher Airlines were forced to curtail their operations following a massive cash crunch and non-payment of dues to various authorities, which in turn further escalates into revocation of their licence to operate in domestic and international markets. However, apart from making money, companies also need to bolster their social responsibilities. For example: In 2014, the Indian government has amended its Company Act by making it mandatory for business units with certain turnover and income to spend minimum of 2% of their past three years average net profits on the welfare activities like poverty, women empowerment, health, gender equality etc. Therefore, in the wake of rapid climatic changes, corporations should spend a portion of their income for ensuring environmental sustainability by encouraging practices like recycling of industrial waste and plantation of trees in the vicinity of factory premises to counter the detrimental effects of their activities on the environment. Moreover, they can also disburse funds to sponsor the various charitable institutions in their efforts to help the underprivileged members of the society. Taking cognizance of this, Tata group, which is one of the leading multinational company, has always been the forefront of the CSR (corporate social responsibility) initiatives in India. In 2016, the Tata group emerged as the leading CSR spending group in the country. To recapitulate, while prosperous and successful businesses are required for boosting the financial strength of a company, however the value of partaking in social welfare should not be ignored. These initiatives act as a critical factor for augmenting the well-being of others and in turn enhances the reputation and image of the company in the long run.