Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said by a few people that providing the voluntary services such as working with charities etc.., must be mandatory for high school students. Taking part in volunteering is definitely advantages in the student's growth. For this reason, this essay will agree with the given statement and give two valid points to support the given idea. Firstly, voluntary service will enable pupils to enhance their soft skills which are essential to build a harmonious society. Our world requires humans who are empathetic and willing to work together as a team to resolve the matters during conflicts. For instance, A president of a nation is expected to be having empathy to be able to serve the country in a better way, knowing the needs of people, and also he should be working with other people who are under him as a team and resolve the issues. Thus, with volunteering students will learn the importance of teamwork and appreciation of other's views. Secondly, extracurricular activities set one apart from the others who are applying for the third level education. Those who are wishing to pursue under-graduation in prestigious universities should be outstanding among a thousand of applicants because universities will have a dime a dozen grades in the application forms, they have received, in such cases, community service will be an add on privilege. For example, I have served to less fortunate children to learn a language and this has helped me to enrol in a good under-graduation institution. In conclusion, since pupil thrive to grow in aspects such as education and personal, it is essential that they should go one step beyond and help others. Therefore, schools must add volunteering into their curriculum which will not only help students build a mere perfect personality and character, but also make the community a better place.