Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree?

The issue that is being disputed is if the arts should be backed by the state. Advocates for government expenditure on arts claim that the arts make a world of difference, whereas other people voice objections to funding the arts from the pockets of taxpayers. However, I strongly believe that the arts are worth every penny that is spent on them and in this essay I would like to prove my point of view. To begin with, the arts are usually considered to be a part and parcel of a national heritage. For centuries they have been inextricably linked with the history, hence people should be concerned with imparting the knowledge and wisdom to future generations. Therefore, governments establish organizations and provide such organizations with all the necessary in order to preserve arts as a part of the national history in return, they exhibit artistic masterpieces of the past, stage plays, and the cost of maintenance is undertaken by the authorities, that is why entrance fee to most of the national museums are free of charge. Lion’s share of tourists visit the Louvre every year. Thus, the government puts an inconsiderable amount of efforts and money to preserve the arts in the form of a country's history. Yet another merit of the arts is that they are both a great source of entertainment and a lucrative business. A striking example in this case is a film industry, taking into consideration Hollywood and Disney. Their global box office revenue amounted to eleven-figured numbers. Revenue from Disney’s products soared to $7.3 billion globally. Henceforth, this industry also pays taxes and boosts a country's economy in many ways: from attracting visitors and creating new jobs to improving the livelihood of thousands people who base their careers in the arts. To sum it up, I agree that in order to let the arts flourish the government expenditure are necessary because arts themselves pay huge money for their project and also state funds make the arts more available for people. Nevertheless, the arts are significantly beneficial