It is important to give children the chance to act independently and make their own decisions from early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

Childhood is the most vulnerable period of life, where the topic on the upbringing of the child by giving them a freedom to make their decisions or should be completely supervised by their parents has always been debated. There are valid arguments for either side, however in my perspective, teenagers should be taught to act independently with partial guidance from their guardians. On the one hand, the parents who show the complete faith in their offspring by giving them space to make their views help them to develop their analytical mind and critical thought process. In fact, such teenagers are more confident in tackling any problem solving situations, and hence, give them a sense of independence in the daily life related activities such as studying, time management, money management and travelling. In addition to it, there are more chances for the students with a good decision making abilities to grab a good job opportunity and excel in their future prospects. On the other hand, some children get diverted from their normal tracks by the lack of constant guidance from their families. For instance, they can start smoking, doing illicit drug abuse, and binge alcohol drinking under the peer pressure and no strictness from their parents. Moreover, some wastes their time by watching television and playing video games, and prefer eating the high calorie fast foods than the home cooked healthy meals. Therefore, subsequently all these circumstances can predispose them to various health conditions such as obesity, vision problems, psychological disturbances and antisocial behaviour. To recapitulate, I opine that the parents should provide a freedom to their adolescents for their overall personality development by keeping a check on the daily life so that the necessary actions can be taken in the case of indulgence in unhealthy habits.