The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

The tradition of sitting together and having a meal is years old. Previously, people used to enjoy, share stories of their day and have a good time with their family at the dinner table. However, this culture is rapidly disappearing and there are several reasons behind it. Firstly, people nowadays are living a busy life and families remain pre-occupied with their schedule, which can be stressful and exhausting enough to choose a peaceful meal over a chatty one. For example, when I know that I have an important meeting on the next day or I have something on my mind already, I prefer to have dinner alone after coming back, so that I can go to bed early. Another point to consider is that, families are scattered throughout the world these days, which makes it even more difficult for them to sit together for a meal. For instance, many of my friends stay abroad and come to their home country only once a year. Thus, it is not possible for them to sit together and have a hearty conversation every day. Therefore, it is true that a family meal is a rare sight now and it has several negative side effects. On the one hand, the bonding between the family members is loosening and on the other hand, loneliness are creeping in, increasing the number of mental health problems and suicide. In particular, the rate of suicide has increased 20% from the past. Even the younger children are not able to cope with the pressure of simple school examinations. To conclude, we should value our family and should enjoy even the little time we get to spend each other, while we are alive. This will not only increase the love that a family share among themselves, but also will nurture us emotionally.