Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an increasing rate of countries that are importing goods to ensure that their citizens will have a sufficient food to support their daily essentials. Because of this, some people believe that countries should be self-sufficient in their food production and to demand commodities such as food in another country as little as possible. However, it is uncertain to other countries, the economic implications are certain. To commence with, in a few countries, imported goods are simply a form of luxury, but this contradicts to those nations where it is a way of survival. For instance, Middle Eastern countries, is not able to produce rice crops, because of the extreme weather, the availability of healthy soil for farming to produce rice grains which is a basic necessity is uncertain. In this case, they have to import to other nearby countries which will be suitable for their demands, some countries like India, Pakistan and Egypt. Besides, the modern technology these days are certainly well developed, wherein it also allows to grow crops with lesser water requirements. However, it would be inhumane to starve citizens in such countries who are not able to produce enough fundamental needs. Also, most of the countries would be better served through vibrant food cultivation and production industries. The economic result is twofold. First, farming, poultry and meat industries will require to hire farmers and meatpacking workers to be able to meet the large demands of crops and meat all over the world. Secondly, these workers will then contribute to the local economy by buying goods and services. In return, trading with international food conglomerates will boost the country's inflation income. To conclude, with an exception in extreme cases, countries should import fewer food products to better serve their citizens economically. However, as much as importing foods is necessary to support the basic needs of the nations, it should not supersede the local production.