Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in groups while others believe that it is better for them to study on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by a few individuals that group study, rather than studying alone is more effective. In my opinion, group studies are more beneficial than studying on your own. This essay will discuss both views and give reasons for my opinion. Firstly, since the combined study can boost understanding of the subject matter, it is helpful for the students to perform better. In other words, different individuals in a group can help each other by discussing the topics, hence, increasing the insight of the topic. For instance, whereas some students may not understand a certain portion of the topic, some others may, thus they can explain it to others. Furthermore, collaborative studies encourage students to work harder. To put it differently, seeing others studying not only create an environment for learning, but also a feeling of competing with them, hence encouraging more sincere efforts. For an illustration, students studying together were found to finish their revision earlier than those studying alone, just because few members of the collaboration did so. Consequently, benefiting the students. Therefore, even though studying alone appear to be less attractive, there are certain advantages associated with it. First and foremost, it leads to better concentration. Whereas groups can cause distractions at times, it is extremely easy to concentrate, alone. For reference, a few members, feeling distracted, can divert the attention of others too. Moreover, whereas collaborative learning has to be synchronised, individual learning can be self paced. To explain further, each person has his own pace, but an association has to adopt a single common speed for all. For example, if a person is fast learner, spending too much time on each topic can be wasteful for him. As a result, showing the advantages of the method. To conclude, even though individual learning has its own merits, studying with others has, obviously, greater rewards to offer. Hence, in my opinion, group studies are better, making them indispensable for better performance and as a result, should be encouraged more.