It is clear that human activity has greatly impacted the health of the environment. What is your opinion?

The connection between human behavior and climate change cannot be ignored. A small minority feel that this link is false; however, I am of the mind that science has proven the relationship to be valid. In the following paragraphs, I will provide justification for my standpoint. Firstly, on a broad scale, the correlation between air pollution and climate change has been proven time and again. As a case in point, in a study published by the United Nations just last year, it noted that greenhouse gases have risen by 70% since the era of industrialization began. The enormity of this effect is observed world-wide, and Portland, Oregon, is no exception. Last year, for instance, we received more snow than had been seen in one season in the previous two centuries. There were 10 snow days declared, where all schools and most workplaces were closed. The local population were effectively trapped in their homes, as the city was not equipped to deal with these storms. Moreover, one can see the detrimental effects of individual behavior in immediate circumstances as well. As an illustration, last summer, one high school student threw a firework off a cliff into the Columbia Gorge. This small action resulted in the most massive fire the area had experienced in recorded history. It took over 66 days for firefighters to gain control over the blaze. Unfortunately, it is estimated that the area will not achieve natural balance again for another two decades. In sum, the obvious link between our actions and the decimation of the environment must be recognized as truth. My sincere hope is that humankind will seek to heel the natural wounds it has caused in the immediate future.