Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals. During festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extant do you agree or disagree with this option?

Some people argue that we no longer remember the original meaning of festivals, and that most of us treat them as an opportunity to have fun. While I moderately agree that enjoyment seems to be a priority during festival times, I do not completely agree that people have forgotten what these festivals mean. In this essay, certain points will be provided in support of this view. Firstly, religious and traditional festivals have certainly become times for celebration. For example, in the UK, Christmas is a good example of a festival period when people are most concerned with shopping, giving and receiving presents, decorating their homes and enjoying traditional meals with their families. Usually, the celebration begins much before the main day and continues for around 2 weeks after that. The examples clearly show that enjoyment in the festivals is people’s primary goal. However, on the other hand, the idea that the underlying meaning of such festivals has been forgotten is likely unrealistic. For example, in the UK primary schools, children are taught in detail about the religious reasons for celebrating Christmas, Easter and various festivals in other religions. And also, children sing Christmas song which has a religious content, and they may even perform nativity plays telling about the story of Jesus’ birth. Thus, this makes it clear that people generally learn the meaning of festivals at an early age. In summary, while quite a few people more focus on the entertainment of festival days, most of them are still aware of the reason for these celebrations. It is predicted that people will not forget the meaning of the festivals in the foreseeable future.