Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, a number of shops located in the high street, have been shut down. While many people think that it brings positive impact on the society, others think this trend brings nothing but negative consequences. I agree that the disappearance of these stores may lead to positive effect upon the society, and in this essay, I will discuss the reasons of this situation. The tendency happens because that customers would rather do online shopping than go to a particular shop. Technology development has changed the way of taking products from the shops at home. People enjoy staying at home and using their modern devices like smart phones or laptops, to purchase items without going directly to the outlets. For example, Vietnamese young people usually buy newest shoes which just have been released, in online shops. It takes less time than queuing up outside stores. This movement has created positive changing, but also have had adverse impacts on society as a whole. Obviously, the shift to online shopping has helped the customers be easier to choose and buy anything they want, which also have allowed both big brands and small and medium enterprises launching a several of promotion campaigns on social platforms such as Lazada or Shopee, which are not required too much resources. However, there are some drawbacks because of this direction. According to this change, many employees who have been working in the retail sector are able to lose their job, that has a significant influence of the rising unemployment rate in many countries, especially in developing countries. In conclusion, although high street shops has disappeared recently due to the convenience of online shopping, I believe that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.