In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses. Some people think that people can choose to build houses in their own styles instead of building them with the same as the old house style in local areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a trend that some city councils establish rules for the major design of certain streets and any constructor should follow them. Meanwhile, many cities still do not regulate it and everyone can build in any style they want. I think that both sides have their merits and in this essay, I am going to discuss the pros and cons of it. On the one hand, stay those who believe that city image should be established by architectural authorities. This idea may be supported by the fact that a modern city has to have a unique spirit as well as to be functional and comfortable for its citizens. In addition, if everyone uses their own design, it will lead to dissonant in styles of buildings and charm of a city will be lost. For example, some old cities such as Prague are appealing because they have an authentic image and the spirit of ancient Europe. However, letting people choose the style of their dwelling to have some benefits as well. If authorities let a constructor decide which kind of design to use, people will definitely come up with fresh ideas and it will probably change the whole concept of a city. I consider it is highly beneficial because our society feels urgent demand in a new city where people and nature will live in peace. In order to conceive the environment, we need to change our way of life including our houses. To illustrate, the concept of a green city with plants embedded in buildings cannot co-exist with the idea of having traditional houses. In conclusion, having considered both sides of the argument I think that both sides have their merits. However, the advantage of having the possibility to build a house by themselves outweighs the disadvantage of it. To keep both sides satisfied, it is suggested to put in place appropriate regulations in order to preserve the historic part of a town and to let people change the other part of it.