Some languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Few languages such as English is widely spoken by billions of people across the world. However, there has been a constant concern that the dominance of such languages is declining the use of other dialects. This essay will provide an interpretation with a suitable epitome by which one can conclude that the advantages of speaking globally accepted languages outweigh its disadvantages One of the most predominant reasons is the enhancement of business opportunities. In other words, it is inevitable that since English is made official internationally, people have considered adopting such lingua Franca for the expansion of the business. Extensive research by the Times Magazine has demonstrated that in 2013, the reduction in language barrier in Venice has enhanced the profit margins of tourism sectors up to 67% compared to its previous year. The second factor linked to the first, learning such a globally accepted language provides a better future for youth and reduces the unemployment rate thereby making a positive impact on the country's economic growth. For example, The Times of India has published the statistics that in India, the number of students benefitting of making English as a mandatory subject is inclining each year. On the other hand, though there have been claims that superseding the minority languages extinct the local culture, the advent of such languages had improved many parts of the world. To conclude, it can be understood that, speaking the dominant languages has provided equal opportunities across the globe and thus helping to come out of the loop caused by the language barrier for the progress of individuals and the country.