Some cities create new housing for their growing populations by constructing a smaller number of high-rise buildings. Other cities create more of low-rise buildings. Which solution is better, in your opinion?

Rising population in urban cities leaves government with no choice but to build more houses to meet this demand. However, when it comes to construction, there is more than one way to build new homes. Some cities prefer to construct fewer residential towers, while others build a larger amount of low-rises for their residents. In this essay both options will be discussed and a visible solution will be suggested. One advantage of the tall building is that they can accommodate a large number of people while having a small footprint. This type of construction is popular in the central city area where the land is scarce and expensive. For instance, in New York city high-rise buildings have significantly reduced housing problem, by almost 55% in recent years. As a result of this strategy, rents tend to become decrease which has a positive impact for that particular city's economy too. However, tall buildings offer little or no privacy, and attract higher maintenance cost. Given a chance to voice their opinion, many individuals would like to prefer low-rise buildings to live in or even build their own houses. This option might be more attractive for big families or persons of an older generation for enjoying their private space. Accessibility is also a concern for older people as taking the stairs when lifts are out of power. In addition, one or two-story houses are much easier to maintain and cheaper as compared to modern towers. The downside of this type of dwellings is that they occupied more space which is certain to find harder in the city in today's world due to scarcity of land, while one can find a home near to the city area and building new homes with space is commonly found near the city area. This increases commute time to work and negatively affects their quality of life. In conclusion, high-rise and low-rise buildings have their unique advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, high towers are more suitable for young generation and it should be built where young population is more. Senior citizens should have a supply of lower dwellings available in quieter locations. Such flexible approach can be a good way to address the needs of growing city ’s population.