Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views, and give your opinion.

Electronic devices dominate the world we live in today. Books are not left behind, and we can see an e-book version for almost all printed material. Arguably, some sections of society think that the advent of online reading material is better for children. However, there is another faction that firmly believes that young children should instead read from a printed copy. While these poles apart views have their merits and demerits, we will discuss in this essay why children, especially young ones should be urged to read from books. In most cases, many parents will agree that the new study patterns developed in collaboration with Edu-tech companies have phenomenally changed how young kids learn to read. To attest this, they consider that a child learns faster with fun-filled activities and games in e-books or online apps, rather than using the old colourful alphabet or number books. Moreover, the ease of carrying one device that can contain a variety of learning courses adds as another benefit. In addition, with new versions flooding the market daily, and development of advanced games promoting early learning, the only requirement is to update the app. A good illustration of this is the success of a recently developed KidsZania mobile app which had 100,000 downloads on the first day of its launch. Furthermore, a regular increase in the number of its paid users goes to show how reliant parents of young kids are on these tech solutions. Thus, gone are the days when parents had to carry multiple books for different topics - animals, birds, numbers alphabets. On the whole, the new technology puts all online resources together, giving the parents and educators ease of access. On the other hand, books or printed materials are easy on the eyes. Besides, the harmful effects of any electronic device are known to all. Increasing daily use of the glaring screens is a fundamental change that irreversibly transforms our society. Typically, looking hunched over at a screen, for a continuous period, not only hampers the eyesight, but is also known to disturb the circadian rhythm. This fact was supported by a recent study of over 1000 kindergartens and primary school students. The study revealed a 100% increase in students with poorer eyesight than those of students 20 years ago. However, with physical books, there is no strain on the eyes, therefore often less fatigue. This results in kids being engrossed in a book for a long time. Youngsters who are raised to read off printed books rather than online, thus have better concentration and tend to become avid readers. While, there is no doubt that once a child grows up, he/she will be a regular user of the glaring devices. However, as kids, their interests should be developed more towards reading off books. To conclude, each parent has a unique way to raise their child, and one cannot dictate the choices they make. However, I firmly believe that the negative aspects of learning through online materials far outweigh the functionality it provides. Inculcating the habit of reading from books will help the children in the long run.