International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Exploring unknown places has always been an innate desire of the humankind. The flourishing tourism industry imbibing this particular human need, lures the travelers by offering international holiday packages to exotic locales. Many will agree that opening up a place to international tourists brings about immense prosperity. However, critics will argue on the are negative effects that this increased level tourism has on the local people and their habitat. I strongly advocate the latter view and through this essay will explain how the disadvantages of tourism supersede the benefits. Firstly, a big faction of the society believes that the economy of an untouched place on earth can be improved by introducing its beauty to the outside people. As tourists start visiting a place, it becomes a hot attraction. More locals want to provide tourism facility thereby increasing competitiveness. If unchecked, this business rivalry leads to overcrowding and the whole purpose of visiting an exotic place is defeated. To illustrate with an example, a recent article in the Traveller magazine stated that some holiday locations once highly admired, were downgraded as the place was overcrowded throughout the year. Secondly, it is obvious that many a pristine location has been marred of its natural beauty just because of the rush of tourists. A great example of this is the Great Barrier Reef, where non-stop diving was the main cause of the corals getting spoiled. The government however was slow in taking any preventive action, and rather promoted tourism heavily. Consequently, this lead to the complete closure of the spot thereby posing a negative impact on the economy of the area. To summarise, from the examples illustrated above, I firmly believe that unregulated international tourism to pristine locations is having detrimental effect on the environment. The government needs to weigh the pros and cons of incessantly promoting areas that otherwise require natural conservation of habitat.