Nowadays, distance-learning have gained in popularity, but some people argue that courses can never be as good as those taken by attending a college or university in person.To what extent do you agree or disagree

With the advent of rapid Internet connection and convenient software, distant education has become increasingly popular in many countries. Some individuals claim that this innovative educational method cannot achieve the same study outcomes as traditional ones which require students to study on campus. However, I partly disagree with this statement because online courses have more benefits, although they indeed have counterproductive effects sometimes. Firstly, the flexibility in arranging schedule is one of the most noticeable advantages that distance-learning programs have over traditional classes. Usually, productivity can be improved if attendees arrange the courses properly as people's learning efficiency varies in different time. For example, some students are more energetic in the mornings, while others might find it easier to focus in the evenings. Since numerous distant lectures are recorded in advance and available 24 hours, it enables learners to allocate the studying time whenever suitable to them. However, traditional teaching timetables are relatively fixed which discourages people from adjusting their plans. Besides, the remote teaching is a better choice for those who fail to be qualified for top-tier universities. Due to the limited positions in world-renowned schools, not everyone has the privilege to enrol in world famous universities and absorb knowledge from prestigious professors. Thus, students in less famous colleges in deprived areas are less likely to receive relatively high standard educational resources due to the fact that these colleges are less attractive to outstanding lecturers. As a result, students in less developed schools might reap benefits of learning remotely. For instance, those students can make the most of remote lectures delivered by prominent lecturers via the Internet. On the other hand, we cannot overlook the downside brought by remote learning. To be specific, studying on campus to receive a tertiary education can achieve better learning outcomes because individuals can not only gain the knowledge, but also develop interpersonal skills. Namely, teamwork spirit, leadership and the ability to corporate can be cultivated when they join extracurricular activities on campus. However, students who choose to participate in online classes cannot profit from these events due to the lack of face-to-face interaction with their peers and teachers. To sum up, distance-education can lead to a better academic achievement by offering flexible timetables and the access for students who cannot receive high standard educational training, though it may prevent people from gaining communication skills.