The younger generation is mainly responsible for the latest technological developments. How far do you agree?

Nowadays, advanced technologies such as the Internet, robotics and artificial intelligence have radically changed the way we live and work. Some critics argue that the younger generation is mainly responsible for the recent technological progress. I firmly agree with this statement and this essay will provide examples before reaching a conclusion. Firstly, today’s youth are digital natives and technically savvy as they are the first high-tech generation born into a world dominated by technology. As a result, they grew up surrounded by computers, mobile phones, Internet and digital television that helped them to develop innovative minds and a great adaptability to new things. For instance, the well-known Facebook networking platform was founded by a computer science student Mark Zuckerberg at age nineteen and he is being considered a guru of innovation. In addition, other recent tech developments such as Instagram, WordPress, Apple were all founded by young people. Therefore, this makes it clear that the younger generation has a great contribution the most recent technological advances. Secondly, numerous young people are risk-takers and are not interested in stability compared to their parents and grandparents. There is a direct link between innovation and the amount of risk someone is ready to take, and it has been shown that young people posses both qualities. For instance, a recent study revealed that the median age of tech startup founders in Silicon Valley, which is a hot spot for high tech innovation in the world, is only 30. Consequently, based on these facts, it can be argued that millennials have had an important contribution to the development of the latest technology. On the other hand, some critics argue that the latest technological achievements were a result of the solid foundation formed by the older generations. While it is undeniable that the older people played a significant role in the technological innovation, it is the new generation that added creativity and enhanced the pre-existing tools to unprecedented levels of development. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the younger generation has played the main role in the modern technological innovations. It is undeniable that their innovative minds and the willingness to do things that involve a high risk helped them to be the leaders of innovation in modern society.