Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become useful adults. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples

There are opposing opinions about raising children to become responsible adults. Many people are of the view that for a child to grow into a useful man, he should be encouraged to live life competitively. Others argue that teaching kids to collaborate rather than compete will ensure they become successful. In this essay, I will discuss these two viewpoints and highlight why it is necessary that both attributes be inculcated in a baby to ensure he becomes an influence on the society. Firstly, instilling and encouraging a competition mindset in infants will push them into becoming their best. Life does not always give us what we want, but a fighting spirit will push one to leave his comfort zone, break limits and get from life what on deserves. Therefore, when a youngster desires a better living condition, he fights to accomplish it. Schools and organizations utilize this method of distributing its limited resources to well deserving individuals through contests and challenges. For example, the Cowbell Mathematics Scholarship, which I won in high school. I got the prestigious award after a keenly contested exam where bright students were examined to determine who takes the only one prize available. With such competitive attitude, leaders are raised. On the other hand, human cooperation can help bridge gaps and produce resounding victories. Every individual is endowed with special capabilities unique with him. One may be extremely gifted in a skill like programming, but lacking in another skill like marketing. His colleague may be more proficient in marketing than programming. A collaboration of these two individuals will overcome those difficulties and create success. For instance, the synergy between the Magic Metering Company and Microstar Technologies has produced outstanding meters known as smart meters deployed in overcoming energy theft. In conclusion, to raise influence from children, it is important to teach them to approach life as if it is a battlefield. This should also be balanced with a teaching that helps the toddler to seek partnerships when expedient.