The private vehicle has greatly improved individual freedom of movement. Moreover, it has also become a status symbol. Yet the use of private vehicles has contributed to some of today’s most serious problems. How can the use of private motor vehicles be reduced?

It is undeniable fact that the pace of buying a private vehicle has increased dramatically in the last one and half decade. Nowadays, each and every home has own vehicle. So, due to this, the problems related to the private vehicles have inclined rigorously in metropolises since the last 5 years. There are a number of solutions for mitigating these situations. First and foremost, the solutions for this situation are not so simple, to discourage people from their own, the government should impose higher taxes for car ownership, so people should think twice before buying cars. Also, these automobiles are one of the major reasons for air pollution, owing to this the regime should levy higher taxes for carbon emission, which will cut down rate half. In addition to the above, traffic jams are also the burning issue these days. Citizens should use car-pooling, to share their automobiles with another citizen, due to this the rate of transportation would reduce to half. Moreover, travel congestion not only in curing noise problems, but also in curing air pollution as well. Furthermore, the union should encourage citizens to use public transportation instead of private vehicles. For example, if people use public transportation, then government should earn money, because of this it can utilise this money to improve the condition of roads. Also, it should advertise the advantages of bicycle, which can be helpful for health, service and pollution. To conclude, the state should enact some stricter laws for car ownership and influx so, people can understand these problems are not as small as they think. When they pay fines, then they will understand the value of public transportation.