Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Due to the increasing rate of crime, it is argued that imposing longer prison sentences on criminals is the most effective method, whereas others believe that there are superior solutions to lower the crime rate. This essay will discuss both views and demonstrate that improving the education system and creating more job opportunities have more merits. On the one hand, there are several reasons why giving extending imprisonment is a possible solution to deal with transgression problem. Firstly, there is no doubt that long prison sentence would serve as a deterrent for future offenders. This strict punishment would make the public think several times before committing illegal activities such as murders and assaults. Secondly, longer prison ensures that offenders do not roam freely in societies and commit more crimes along their way, which helps to ensure the safety of other citizens. For example, a recent UK report showed that awarding longer imprisonment of 10 years for sexual assault cases led to a decrease in the levels of sexual crimes by 18%. On the other hand, I agree that there are possibly better ways of lowering the rate case. One practical solution is that moral lessons from schools and parents are required to keep the young away from misconducts. This is because that a number of youngsters commit crimes due to their low awareness as a result of insufficient education. For example, some 15-23 year olds are unable to adjust their behaviour in accordance with social norms, imitating the violence they see in the media. Furthermore, it would be better if the government provides the poor with financial resources and offers them job opportunities. In fact, people tend to break the law as their needs are not satisfied so enhancing their living conditions might contribute to the fall of crime rates. In conclusion, although applying, extending punishment for prisoners is an effective way, I believe that job creation and the improvement of education system are the best measure to reduce lawlessness rates.