In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area.What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

Nowadays, more people live in big cities than in small villages. However, in the past, a lot of people lived in small villages. Personally, I think there were a part of advantages and disadvantages of staying in a small neighbourhood. As I know, there were positive things about living in a small community. Firstly, people could know each other well, so they must have had a close relationship and helped each other easily. Secondly, the life there was safe because there were low crime rates and no traffic jams. Thirdly, the living cost was low and the economy was self-sufficient; thus, it was easy to live there. However, there were a lot of disadvantages when living here. Firstly, I think the lack of privacy was a very uncomfortable thing. Some curious neighbours could always discuss each other's life. Secondly, the shortage of services like hospitals, schools, accommodation,... Was a bad thing also, as a consequence, there did not have a good education, healthcare service. As a result, the living standard was not good. Thirdly, there were not enough jobs for people who want to find occupants. Because of the lack of jobs, there were low incomes. Fourthly, the bad living conditions were serious issues too. Because they caused a lot of dangerous diseases like cholera, even cancer,... To sum up, in my opinion, the disadvantages of living in a small community outweigh the advantages as I have discussed above. As a result, I do not recommend living in small villages.