Caring for children is probably the most important job in any society. Because of this, all mothers and fathers should be required to take a course that prepares them to be good parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Parenthood is a crucial phase in human lives. It is a huge responsibility for the parents to ensure that children grow up to be a good member of the society. Some people believe that they can master this by taking formal training while others are of the opinion that it comes through experience. Parent today need to ensure that they get the right information no matter what the source of the information is. So, for some it may even need to attend courses. Parenthood to a larger extent is instinctive and needs to be developed for each child as each one them is unique. Parents, especially mothers need to go through daily experiences to understand and develop this ability through regular interactions with the people around her. In the past, there were extended family members such as the grandmothers, mothers-in-laws, and aunts who passed down their experiences to the prospective mothers. In many countries too, traditions and customs play a significant role in nurturing the child, which is impossible to learn just by attending courses. Nevertheless, as the world is growing rapidly, we also need to consider new ideas, especially in healthcare and technology. Nowadays, due to fast growing economies, people migrate from other countries for jobs and often stay away from their parents. Moreover, there are many advancements in technology and healthcare that parents need to understand. Hence, they need to attend courses that can give them baby nurturing tips. These courses are not only convenient but also accessible to the parents. Many people can enrol for e-learning class or even join courses at their local community. The parents can at least get an overview of the vaccines and first -aid available for a newborn and share experience. As a result, even if today's parents stay away from their families, these courses can be help for them. In summary, although parenthood to some degree comes naturally and was supported by families, therefore negating the needs of courses, today’s changing environment is very different and agree that such courses can be bolster the baby nurturing process. Nonetheless, I think that these courses should not be mandatory and may depend upon the situation.