Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Since the beginning of civilizations, popular opinions have influenced many governmental policies. Some people assert that successful leaders must always have swift responses to changes in people's opinions. I mostly disagree with this assertion because of the two reasons outlined below; however, I do concede that leaders should take into account people's opinions when making decisions that profoundly impact people's life. First, while making decisions, leaders should not rely on people's opinions because these opinions are often contradictory. This is because many societal problems could be boiled down to philosophical problems. For example, when backscatter scanning machines with the ability to see through people's clothes were invented, many people debated whether this machine should be used by security personnel in airports. One of this debate's roots is whether personal privacy is more important than the collective safety, a classical question in philosophy. Philosophical problems are hard to solve because people with different backgrounds are likely to have different opinions. As a result, leaders might not be able to make a decision that satisfies people from both sides of the debate. Second, even when people do not have contradictory views on an issue, their opinions could be manipulated by external forces; as a result, these opinions may not be accurate and usable in the policy-making process. For instance, when the damage of the first World War wretched the people of Germany, the majority of these people demanded a combative government. This decision was an impetus for militarization in Germany and the eventual destruction of the German economy. Another example is Russian hackers' efforts to interfere with the 2016 United States election by enhancing the popularity of one presidential candidate on social networks. While these efforts have never been confirmed, the possibility of these efforts shows that people's opinions could be manipulated for wrong purposes. Therefore, to avoid the damages of manipulating opinions, leaders should be considerate when they use these opinions to legislate. Admittedly, leaders sometimes have to listen to people whose fates are impacted by the decisions. For example, suppose that the chief wants to downgrade the status of a city. The leader, in this case, should listen to the affected people so that he is aware of how the decision would change the lives of the people in the city. If he chooses not to do so, the leader might appear to be tyrannical and lose popular trust. Because popular trust is an important factor in assessing the accomplishment of a leader, the head should maintain it by listening to his people when making high-stakes decisions. To conclude, while sometimes the people should be heard by their leaders, successful leaders do not need to use their people's opinions in all of their political decisions.