Some people believe that money spent on space exploration is not justifiable. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The immense expenditure on discovering the universe has been a topic of general public’s interest. Many people assert that this is an unreasonable allocation of money because it would be wiser to invest in other areas. Personally, I am an absolute exponent of this school of thought for some several following reasons. In the first place, advocates of this nation could cite some valid rationale for their opposition to the financial resources being utilized on space discovery. The first justification is that the amount of money spent on this practice could be tremendously overwhelming. Billions of dollars are required to conduct even the least costly satellite launch to go into orbit around a particular planet, which seems out of reach for less developed nations. The second argument is that the results gained from these prohibitively expensive expeditions could be practically inapplicable. To provide a supporting example, the findings of the soil that might be fit for agricultural purposes on Mars could hardly be valuable to the ordinary people since either they virtually have any impact on their everyday lives or the masses simply could not do anything with that kind of findings. On the other hand, I am convinced that this amount of money could be well spent by allotting it to other essential fields that have immediate effects. First and foremost, education undoubtedly plays a pivotal role, especially in this modern world. Therefore, the government could construct more educational institutions in remote areas or partly cover tuition fees for underprivileged students with this money. Another key area in dire need of governmental subsidy is the health care system. As disheartening as it may sound, the Covid-19 pandemic has proved to the world that qualified doctors as well as high quality medical facilities are woefully inadequate. This glaring situation could be significantly alleviated by national coffers, rather than being misspent on universe exploration. In conclusion, I lean towards the idea that the pursuit space exploration is rather imprudent and seemingly affordable as for now due to the fact that there are indeed many wiser ways to exploit this amount of money.