Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Many people and in particular children enjoy playing video games. While I accept that those games can sometimes have a positive effect on the user, I believe that they are more likely to have a harmful impact. On the one hand, video games can be both entertaining and educational. Users or gamers are transported into the visual world are often more interesting and engaging than real-life pastimes. From an educational perspective, these games encourage imagination and creativity, as well as concentration, logical thinking, and problem solving. All of which are useful skills outside the gaming context. Furthermore, It has been shown that computer simulation games can improve the motor skills of users and help to prepare them for real-world tasks, such as flying a plane. However, I would argue that these benefits were outweighed by the drawbacks. Gaming could be highly addictive because users are constantly given scores, new targets, and frequent rewards to keep them playing. Many children now spend hours each day trying to progress through the levels of a game or grab a higher score than their friends. This type of addition could have effects from ranging lack of sleep at school, when homework is sacrificed for a few more hours on the computer or console. The surge in obesity in recent years has also been linked in part to the sedentary lifestyle and lack of exercise that often accompany with gaming addiction. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of video games are more significant than the possible benefits.