The quality of computer language translation has improved significantly in recent years. Therefore it is not necessary for children to learn a foreign language. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

In the past few years, computerised translation has reached a new level of accuracy with the advancement in technology. This rapid progression has made some people believe that now children are not obligated to learn a new language. However, I disagree with this statement because learning a foreign sound broadens our mental horizon and memory skills. Firstly, knowing how to read or speak other than in our native tongue gives us an opportunity to better understand the other culture. For example, if we know French we can gain so much information about the french literature and art. This enhances cultural understanding as well. Increased cultural awareness provides for enriched interpersonal exchanges and experiences. Thus, broadening the range of one's knowledge, understanding, or experience. Secondly, acquiring a language other than our native can boost the memory skills and thinking capability. The brain centre is so flexible that a second speech can develop new areas. Therefore, strengthening the mind's ability to focus. For instance, according to a survey, 90% of bilingual students perform better in school as compared to monolinguals. Hence, better development of brain. In conclusion, I disagree with people who believe that computer translation is sufficient for communication between people who speak different languages. I believe children should be taught foreign languages to ameliorate their reasoning, memory capabilities and broaden their cultural knowledge. We could consult our computers to have a conversation, but our conversations are richer and more interesting when we attempt to communicate by actually speaking to each other.