In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, should be done about it?

In recent times, the global job market has become extremely competitive, leading to high unemployment rates in numerous countries. This unfortunate situation even happens to university students with outstanding qualifications. In this essay, the key factors accounting for this problem are outlined and some possible measures are offered below. Firstly, many undergraduates only focus on theoretical knowledge and tend to ignore the practical applications of what they have assimilated during their school year. Although this studying strategy might provide students with both fundamental and advanced information about their fields of study and help them excel in exams or dissertations, some particular fields related to Applied Science or Business and Marketing require real experiences by conducting actual projects or undertaking work. If the future job seekers fail to meet this requirement, the chance of them being rejected is much higher. Most students, therefore, are advised to participate in internship programs or technology apprenticeship jobs before they graduate to put their theories into practice and at the same time, acquire more knowledge during the process. Secondly, even the students possessing high academic abilities and experiences are still likely to receive numerous rejections when applying for jobs if they lack essential working skill sets such as communication or computer ones. As most tasks in the office environment are now executed through smart devices, any employee needs to possess the ability to operate those machines accurately with ease. Communicative capability, in the same manner, also plays an important role in this context since any company would prefer their future staff to be able to articulate their ideas with coworkers during meetings or negotiate with clients in pitching sessions. Thus, it is recommended that apart from doing school assignments, every graduate should spend some time practising soft skills through part-time jobs or extra-curricular activities, which could help them gain a competitive edge in the long run. In conclusion, in order for future job seekers to become gainfully employed after graduation, they need to not only sharpen their academic levels through practice but engage in other activities outside of school to develop other integral skills. The unemployment rate is predicted to follow an ascending trend unless the future job seekers prepare themselves carefully in advance.