Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about funding for creative artists. While some argue that governments should not financially support them, I agree with the idea that money for art projects should come from both governments and other sources. On the one hand, it is understandable for people to disagree with the idea of governmental funding for artists. The main reason is that governments have more pressing concerns. For example, a state budget needs to be spent on a wide variety of areas ranging from education, healthcare to security, transportation that will be beneficial for all members of society. Whereas, a creative artists' work is still considered a luxury or a leisure experience rather than creating social values. Another reason is that such artists have already earned their own money by selling their artworks, and other sources of support seem unnecessary. In Vietnam, a number of musicians have become wealthy because of getting a copyright for their music and collecting royalties from thousands of users across the world. On the other hand, some art projects require help from the state. Some artworks representing a nation's historical and cultural heritage need to be introduced to the rest of the world. Additionally, they serve to educate people about a city or as hallmarks attracting visitors. For example, the Vietnam Museum of Ethnology, which features significant artworks, such as paintings, sculptures created by 54 Vietnam's ethnic groups, conserves cultural values and allows young generations to discover their roots. Moreover, such a place as a tourist destination plays a vital role in promoting the local tourism industry. Thus, governments and other local organizations should pay for creative artists to produce those kinds of art because, without their artwork, our cities would not be unique and captivating. In conclusion, the works produced by creative artists can positively influence our society, so both governments and other institutions should financially support them.