In many places, new homes are needed, but only space to build them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is important to protect countryside and not build homes there. What is your opinion about this ?

In many areas, new houses are required, but there is limited space available in cities. So, the only place available to build new homes is in the countryside. It is argued by some people that these rural areas should be protected by not building new houses. This essay completely agrees with that statement because the construction of new homes can result in famine and decrease in fertile lands for agriculture To begin with, scarcity of food can already be observed near prominent cities across the world today. Most of the villages are occupied by farming land and produces various kinds of cooking requirements for a living. Hence, the destruction of these agricultural lands for the purpose of building new homes can cause foodstuff deprivation. For example, research conducted by a notable sociologist states that, if the agricultural land in the villages continues to decrease, then the scarcity of food may increase to 40% by 2030. Furthermore, an increase in environmental deterioration with cutting down of trees near the countryside is a prevailing concern for the people. With the expansion of cities, the area near the villages and surroundings are becoming deserted due to lack of vegetation. As a result, the oxygen levels in the atmosphere are reduced with a rise in air contamination causing severe health concerns. For instance, an article in the New York Times states that 15% more pollution is recorded in the USA with the expansion of cities beyond the outskirts. In conclusion, the construction of new homes in the villages and countryside should not be allowed as it may elevate the pollution problems and also result in a shortage of food.